Rocky Ferrier Named First Team ABCA and Gold Glove All-East Region

Copyright 2017; Wilmington University. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2017; Wilmington University. All rights reserved.

NEWARK, Del. - - Senior outfielder Rocky Ferrier has been named to the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) All-East Region First Team, as well as an All-Region Gold Glove award winner as voted on by the region's head coaches.

Ferrier (Perkasie, Pa.) helped the Wildcats to a 30-21 overall record and a second place finish in the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference regular season with a 17-5 mark.

The senior was the catalyst tin the Wildcats' lineup, starting as the leadoff hitting in 50 of the 51 games. He led the team and finished second in the CACC with a .378 batting average, the sixth best single season average in program history. He also led the CACC with 73 hits on the year, tying for the fourth most in Wildcats' NCAA era. Ferrier went 19-for-24 in stolen bases, ranking third in the CACC. He was also hit by a pitch 14 times, leading to the fourth highest on-base percentage in the CACC (.455). He was eighth in the league in scoring 41 runs as well. He finished the year with eight doubles, two triples, and 20 RBI.

Defensively, Ferrier made 70 putouts on 74 chances in left field, contributing with three outfield assists. He made 47 starts in left field while also starting three games in right field. He led the team with 20 multi-hit games, including three four-hit games and four three-hit games.

Philadelphia's Steven Wells was voted as the ABCA East Region Player of the Year while St. Thomas Aquinas' Frankie Moscatiello was voted as the ABCA East Region Pitcher of the Year. Bentley's Ryan Berardino earned the region's ABCA Rookie of the Year as well.

Click here to view all three All-Region Teams from the 2017 season.


2017 ABCA All-East Region Gold Glove Team

C – Carlos Pena, Nyack
1B – Anthony Bartolomei, Dominican
2B – Matt Flynn, St. Anselm
SS – Michael Stack, Adelphi
OF – Aaron Crandall, St. Anselm
OF – Elijah Leerdam, Molloy
OF – Rocky Ferrier, Wilmington
P – Dylan Borawski, Chestnut Hill